Latest Bird Pics

It’s been a while since I posted any birding pics, so here goes.

Wood Duck

Belted Kingfisher

Blue-Headed Vireo (with lunch)

Northern Shovelers (contemplating life)

Eared Grebe

Crested Caracara

It’s kinda spooky when predators are watching you.

About EagleAye

I like looking at the serious subjects in the news and seeking the lighter side of the issue. I love satire and spoofs. I see the ridiculous side of things all the time, and my goal is to share that light-hearted view.
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Latest Bird Pics

  1. Colline says:

    It’s amazing that you get to see all these birds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyn says:

    That’s a great selection of birds, Eric. Most of the year we just have common starlings, pigeons, crows and magpies around here. In summer though, the sulphur crested cockatoos, galahs and rainbow lorikeets rip our book-leaf cypress to pieces for the seed pods on them. Very occasionally we’ll have a Tawny Frogmouth on the letterbox. Never a camera handy when you need one :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      Oh man. Sounds like an awesome collection. I’ve never seen a Magpie, but would love to. I photographed a Frogmouth in the Philippines once. An incredible bird! I’d love to see some of the birds you’ve got down under. Thanks Lyn!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. goroyboy says:

    Is this the origin of Eagle Aye? These are pretty cool. I always likened bird watching to old retired English tourists. I have come to appreciate them in my garden and while fishing. Perhaps a “learn by doing” reward but it seems to me the more you watch AND listen, calls and shrills are recognizable as are flapping and flying patterns. Most recently the King Fisher fluttering as well as my recent tribute to the Cardinals Call.
    May I ask where most of these pics are taken?

    Liked by 1 person

    • EagleAye says:

      I had the same feeling. Birding is for retirees and penshioners. Since then, I’ve met a number of younger folk birding. Like them, I like getting into nature, and then knowing something about what I’m seeing. It’s one way of appreciating the natural world. My sister, by contrast is a walking encyclopedia about plants, but not birds. We enjoy nature in our own ways.

      These were all taken in the Austin/Central Texas area. It turns out, Central Texas is a major thoroughfare for migrating birds so we get an unusually large variety of birds through the seasons. We’re lucky.

      And the origin of EagleAye is: I just like birds of prey. Always have. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Say something!